By Type
By Keyword(s)
By Dates

NSBA Statement on Public Schools Opening in the Fall

Anna Maria Chávez, Executive Director & CEO National School Boards Association issued a statement regarding schools opening in the fall: “Public schools have risen to meet an unprecedented challenge to continue educating schoolchildren during the COVID-19 pandemic—an emergency unforeseen by most of the world. With the right federal commitment, this challenging period can be turned into a transformational opportunity to improve student learning as public schools innovate.”

  • U.S. Supreme Court LGBTQ Ruling Statement

    June 16, 2020

    In response to the June 15, U.S. Supreme Court ruling that Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex, also applies to gay and transgender individuals, NSBA Executive Director & CEO Anna Maria Chávez issued the following statement.

  • Civil Rights and George Floyd Statement

    June 1, 2020

    The National School Boards Association condemns the recent killing of George Floyd and other instances of lethal attacks on black people in our country. It is time to stop the violence against our neighbors, and to correct the underlying conditions, which include unequal access to a quality education, poverty, institutional discrimination, ignorance and power disparities that permit these repeated acts of aggression.

  • NSBA Names Anna Maria Chávez Executive Director & CEO

    April 20, 2020

    NSBA is happy to announce it has appointed Anna Maria Chávez as its Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer (CEO). Chávez will lead NSBA’s staff teams to advance the association’s mission and grow the value of the organization. Chávez will also lead efforts to expand on NSBA’s strong federal, legal and public advocacy, reputation, and credible voice.

  • NSBA Council of School Attorneys Welcomes New Leadership for 2020-2021

    April 13, 2020

    NSBA's Council of School Attorneys, the national network of attorneys representing K-12 public school districts, has seated new members for its 2020-2021 Board of Directors.

  • Charlie Wilson Elected National School Boards Association President

    April 9, 2020

    NSBA is pleased to announce that Charlie Wilson of Ohio’s Worthington City Schools was elected as NSBA's president 2020-2021. Viola M. Garcia of Texas’ Aldine Independent School District will serve as President-Elect and Frank S. Henderson, Jr. of Kansas’ Seaman School District will serve as Secretary-Treasurer. ElizaBeth “Beth” Branham of South Carolina’s Lexington School District Two will serve as the association’s Immediate Past-President.

  • NSBA’s Council of Urban Boards of Education Announces 2020-2021 Leadership

    April 8, 2020

    Jacinto Ramos, Jr. of Texas’ Fort Worth Independent School District was re-elected to serve as the chair of NSBA's Council of Urban Boards of Education. Steve Gallon of Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Florida, was re-elected Vice-Chair and Joyce Morley of DeKalb County School District, Georgia, was re-elected Secretary.

  • NSBA’s National Black Council Elects 2020-2021 Leadership

    April 8, 2020

    Devin Del Palacio of Tolleson Union High School District, Arizona, continues to serve as chair of NSBA's National Black Council of School Board Members. Micah Ali of Compton Unified School District, California, was elected Chair-elect and Erika Mitchell of Atlanta Public Schools, Georgia, was elected Secretary.

NSBA Statement in Response to U.S. Supreme Court State Aid to Private School Decision

In response to the June 20, U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Espinoza v. Montana Department of Revenue, supporting the funding of religious schools with public dollars, Anna Maria Chávez, Executive Director & CEO National School Boards Association issued a statement stating, “Today’s 5-4 Supreme Court decision in the Espinoza v. Montana Department of Revenue case is a disappointing loss for our country’s public schools and the 50 million children that attend them."

The marble columns of the Supreme Court of the United States

NSBA Statement in Response to U.S. Supreme Court DACA Decision

In response to the June 18, U.S. Supreme Court decision on Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), NSBA's representatives issued statements applauding the ruling.