Membership is open to attorneys at law who are licensed to practice before the highest court in any state of the United States or before a court of record in the United States and who are (or have been within the last two years) attorneys for a local public school district, a state association of school boards or any public junior or community college.

Affiliated Membership

In the following states, COSA has a partnership with the state affiliated council. Payment is processed through your state’s affiliate, which then provides member information to COSA. Please contact your state with membership inquiries.

Alabama

Jayne Harrell Williams
Alabama Association of School Boards
334-277-9700
jwilliams@alabamaschoolboards.org

Arizona

Gina Moss
Arizona School Boards Association
602-254-1100
gmoss@azsba.org

Arkansas

Kathy Ivy
Arkansas School Boards Association
501-372-1415
kivy@arsba.org

California

Kyla Asbell
California School Boards Association
916-669-3268
kasbell@csba.org

Colorado

Sharon Edwards
Colorado Association of School Boards
303-832-1000
sedwards@casb.org

Connecticut

Gail Heath
Connecticut Association of Boards of Education
860-571-7446
gheath@cabe.org

Delaware

John Marinucci
Delaware School Boards Association
302-678-2265
jwmarinucci@verizon.net

 

Florida 

Kristy Gavin, FSBAA Treasurer
Florida School Board Attorneys Association
386-437-7526 x3130
gavink@flaglerschools.com

Georgia 

Kari Lewallen
Georgia School Boards Association
770-962-2985
klewallen@gsba.com

Illinois

Bridget Trojan
Illinois Association of School Boards
217-528-9688
btrojan@iasb.com

Indiana 

Lisa Tanselle
Indiana School Boards Association
317-639-0330
ltanselle@isba-ind.org

Iowa

Marte Brightman
Iowa Association of School Boards
515-288-1991
mbrightman@ia-sb.org

Kansas 

Leslie Garner
Kansas Association of School Boards
785-273-3600
lgarner@kasb.org

Kentucky 

Alicia Lombardi
Kentucky School Boards Association
502-695-4630 Ex: 1228
alicia.lombardi@ksba.onmicrosoft.com

Louisiana 

Robert L. Hammonds
Hammonds & Sills
225-923-3462
rhammonds@hamsil.com

Maine

Angie Audette
Maine School Boards Association
207-622-3473
aaudette@msmaweb.com

Maryland

Edmund O'Meally
Maryland Council of Local School Board Attorneys
410-339-6757
eomeally@pklaw.com

Massachusetts 

Carol Grazio
Massachusetts Assoc. of School Committees, Inc.
617-523-8454
cgrazio@masc.org

Michigan 

Brad Banasik
Michigan Association of School Boards
517-327-5900
bbanasik@masb.org

Missouri 

Scott Summers
Missouri School Boards Association
573-445-9920
summers@msbanet.org

Montana 

Karla Smerker
Montana School Boards Association
406-442-2180
ksmerker@mtsba.org

Minnesota 

Minnesota School Boards Association
507-934-2450
cmiller@mnmsba.org

Mississippi

Stephanie Wells
Mississippi School Boards Association
601-924-2001
swells@msbaonline.org

Nebraska 

Vicki Winters
Nebraska Association of School Boards
402-423-4951
vwinters@nasbonline.org

New Hampshire 

Amanda Hodgman
New Hampshire School Boards Association
603-228-2061
amanda@nhsba.org

New Mexico

Gina Moss
New Mexico School Boards Association
602-254-1100
gmoss@azsba.org

New York 

Gregory J. Guercio
New York State School Attorneys Association
516-694-3000
dgiaquinto@guerciolaw.com

North Carolina 

Debbie Shinbara
North Carolina School Boards Association
919-841-4040
dshinbara@ncsba.org

North Dakota

Linnae Brew
North Dakota School Boards Association
701-255-4127
linnae.brew@ndsba.org

Oklahoma

Andy Fugitt
Oklahoma School Board Attorneys Association Inc.
afugitt@cfel.com

Oregon

Maricela Highsmith
Oregon School Boards Association
503-588-2800
mhighsmith@osba.org

Pennsylvania 

Crista DeGregorio
Pennsylvania School Boards Association
800-932-0588, ext. 3426
crista.degregorio@psba.org

South Carolina

Dr. Tiffany Ricardson
South Carolina School Boards Association
803-799-6607
trichardson@scsba.org

South Dakota

Deanne Arbach
Associated School Boards of South Dakota
605-773-2500
deanne.arbach@asbsd.org

Tennessee

Jenna Zwan
Tennessee School Boards Association
615-815-3905
jzwan@tsba.net

Kayce Kiningham, CMP
Director of Meetings & Planning
Tennessee School Boards Association
615-815-3908
kkiningham@tsba.net

Texas

Annette Moseley
Texas Association of School Boards
512-467-0222
annette.moseley@tasb.org

Virginia

Dorothy Vidano
Virginia School Boards Association
434-295-8722
dorothy@vsba.org

West Virginia

Howard Seufer
West Virginia Council of School Attorneys
304-347-1776
hseufer@bowlesrice.com

Wisconsin

Joe Koenig
Finance and Administrative Services
Wisconsin Association of School Boards
608-512-1715
jkoenig@wasb.org

Dan Mallin, Legal and Policy Services Counsel
Wisconsin Association of School Boards
608-512-1708
dmallin@wasb.org

Individual Membership

Attorneys in Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, New Jersey, Ohio, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wyoming and the District of Columbia may seek an individual membership. Sign-up for an individual COSA membership.

If you have questions, please contact NSBA's Council of School Attorneys at 703.838.6722 or COSA_Registration@nsba.org. Many of these states also have a state council of school attorneys.

School Law Subscriber

If you don’t qualify for COSA membership, you can sign up as a School Law Subscriber and receive access to the online issues of the Council’s newsletter Inquiry & Analysis, plus receive access to the presentation papers from the Council's Annual School Law Seminar. Fill out the school law subscriber enrollment form.